Register Login Contact Subscribe App Change City NightOut

Anchorage Neighborhood Health Center

Location & Contact:

1217 E. Tenth Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
Administration Email
View our Website
View our Facebook page
View our Twitter page
New Patient Information


About Us

To provide wellness by providing the highest quality care with compassion and accessible services for our community

To eliminate the unmet primary health care needs of our community.

Respect Serve our patients, each other and community members with courtesy, respect, and cultural sensitivity. We value the diversity of staff and clients and will strive to honor each person.

Compassion Provide accessible and affordable services in an empathetic and thoughtful manner. Promote an open and friendly manner to invite others to feel welcomed and valued.

Personal Integrity Assume personal responsibility for achieving the highest standard of ethics, honoring our commitments and fostering an environment of mutual trust and stewardship.

Excellence Achieve a high level of excellence in fulfilling our mission and working with each other. Demonstrate excellence with exceptional customer service and unquestionable work ethics.

Collaborative Spirit Demonstrate a willingness to work with each other, patients, government agencies, donors, and our community.

History and Profile of the Health Center
In 1974, Anchorage Neighborhood Health Center (ANHC) began service to Anchorage with a handful of clinicians in a trailer. Since that time, it has grown to become one of Alaskas largest and most comprehensive primary care medical and dental practices. ANHC is a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) under section 330 of the Public Health Act. It was Alaskas first community health center, and remains the states largest, serving over 12,000 individual patients through over 40,000 visits per year.

ANHC provides its services from the Fairview Health Center. The facility was originally constructed in 1982 and received an addition in 1992. It contains:

20 exam rooms
Procedures room
6 chair dental clinic
Laboratory with x-ray and mammogram

Senior Leadership
Executive Director Leonard Stewart
Medical Director Dr. Philip Hess, MD
Dental Director Dr. Gazal Ringler, DMD
Finance Director Katie Blank
Strategic Initiatives Director Joan Fisher
Operations Director David Frain
Human Resources Director Patricia Mitchell
Development and Marketing Director Jon Zasada

ANHC Staff
ANHC is proud of the over 100 person team that is dedicated providing quality, accessible care in our community. Our professional health staff includes labratory and radiology technicians, pharmacists and pharmacy technicians, registered nurses and certified medical assistants, patient care coordinatiors and educators, and dental hygienists and technicians. Professionals in facility maintenance, finance, reception, billing, patient records, and administration support their service to our patients.

Board of Directors
The ANHC board is composed of ANHC consumers and interested members of the community. Federal requirements and ANHC bylaws mandate that the majority of members be consumers who represent the individuals being served in terms of demographic factors, such as race, ethnicity, sex and neighborhood. If you are interested in more information about the board of directors, please contact ANHC administration at 792-6538 or email us at You may also complete our Application for Board Membership (PDF) and a member of the Board will contact you.

Current Board Officers:

Jennifer Bundy-Cobb, Chair appointed 2007
The Wilson Agency

Rhonda Kitter, Vice Chair appointed 2008
NEA Alaska Health Plan

Vanessa Salinas, Secretary appointed 2006
The Alaska Food Coalition

Joe Falcone, Treasurer appointed 2008
Conoco Phillips

Current Board Members:

Veronica Allmaras appointed 2004
Anchorage School District

Maude Blair appointed 2005
NANA Regional Corporation

Penny Burt appointed 2011

Cindy Gilder appointed 2009
State of Alaska DEC

Angela Jimenez appointed 2010
Self Employed

Joel Neimeyer * appointed 2006
Denali Commission

Leslie Pridgen appointed 2010
HOPE Community Resources

Brian Spink appointed 1999
Alaska USA Federal Credit Union

Dean Thompson appointed 2000
Kemppel, Huffman, Ellis, LLC.

Judy Whittaker appointed 2003

Elizabeth Witthar appointed 2011

Becky Zembower * appointed 2002

*past Board Chair








Monday: 8am-5:30pm | CLOSED 12:30pm-1:30pm
Tuesday: 8am-5:30pm | CLOSED 12:30pm-1:30pm
Wednesday: 8am-5:30pm | CLOSED 12:30pm-1:30pm
Thursday: 8am-5:30pm | CLOSED 12:30pm-1:30pm
Friday: 8am-5:30pm | CLOSED 12:30pm-1:30pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed

Report incorrect information

DayInAnchorage Sponsors

Anchorage Convention & Visitors Bureau Green Star
Anchorage First Northway Mall
Planet Beach Anchorage